top of page
IMG_6827.jpg

CiaoBella

Read this week's post...

Ciao, bellas! And welcome to my blog! Fashion has always been a passion of mine and I am so excited to share it with all of y'all. CiaoBella is all about helping everyone reach their full fashion potential while realizing their own special features that make their style unique. View past posts below or click to read this week's most recent fashion update!

Post: Welcome

Trending in 2022

Ciao, bellas! HAPPY NEW YEAR! Here's to yet another fun year of CiaoBella together! For today's blog post, I will be trying to predict the trends for 2022. At first, this seemed relatively easy but when I realized I'd have to extend all the way to next fall it soon became an extremely stressful task. That's why today's blog post will be a loose collection of thoughts that I have a gut feeling will be in style. I've done some research and have a hunch that each of these items on my list will show up at least subtly this year. So keep reading if you want to jump on the trend bus sooner rather than later ;)



Pointed-Toe Shoes

You heard it here first, ladies! Pointed-toe shoes are coming back in 2022. Remember those heels your mom wears to work every day that you blatantly called ugly a few months ago? Well, chances are, you'll be complimenting them at some point in 2022. Last summer we saw a revival in the squared toe shoe, especially as it related to kitten heels and then boots in the fall. Despite the fact that I've become attached to square-toe shoes, I really feel a push towards firstly pointed boots and then pointed heels. This trend has already been generated in those iconic stilettos with the diamond bows that every influencer on earth is wearing. Take a look at them below next to a pair of heels that I think will dominate this coming June and July.


Heels. Period.

The bottom line is that heels in general are going to be all the rage this year. Heels have always been popular and they were still popular in 2021 but I really think 2022 may be the year that women get their act together and start wearing heels (at least low ones) on a daily basis. There's simply something so empowering about stomping around with 3 extra inches on your legs.


Balloon Skirts

This is a more minor trend because it'll only show up in the summer/spring but I still think it's worth mentioning. Bubbly skirts are a relatively new concept that vaguely popped up at the end of summer 2021. I spotted an adorable light blue one online and was instantly so intrigued by how such a simple dress could be made so classily stylish with a new hem. I don't think balloon hems will be popular in skirts or tops since they're neither flattering nor easy to style like that. Instead, I think we're gonna see a good bit of bubble skirts appear on dresses particularly those worn by feminine stylists.








Low-rise Bottoms

There's not much to be said about this except that now that Brittney Spears is "free" people think they can start wearing low-rise bottoms again. I was all for this trend my freshman year of high school but now I just feel like it's too reused. Like seriously, can Gen Z create their own trend for once without reusing past generations'? I'm about sick of "Y2K vibes". But as long as that entire decade is trendy, low-rise jeans will always be a possibility. And in 2022, we'll probably see them translated into skirts and shorts again as well. Just a heads up for all my high-rise homies.















Pretty in Purple?

Don't @ me, but the fashion world has been loving purple lately. If I had to bet money on one of these trend predictions, it would probably be this one. I'm not sure where this is coming from but it seems like the go-to color for 2022 will be purple. Not only are stores producing every style in some shade of purple but consumers have been LOVING these products. For some reason, the purple trend just draws you in like a siren. I, for one, refuse to wear purple since I am so loyal to Queen Pink but if you look good in it, then GO FOR IT! There's been a lot of chatter on fashion blogs about 2022 being "the year to pick a personal color" and purple isn't shaping out to be a bad option.

Read Vogue's Article about Pantone's Color of the year, Very Peri: https://www.vogue.com/article/pantone-2022-color-of-the-year-very-peri


Baggy Clothing

Baggy clothing styles have been all the rage since quarantine left us all addicted to sweatpants. Not only does baggy clothing provide optimal comfort, but it also makes your body seem smaller in comparison to your clothes which gives off a flattering illusion. Honestly, I think the fashion world is simply so attached to baggy clothing at the moment that the trend will last for quite a bit of time. It doesn't appear that people are ready to give up comfort quite yet.


Flashy Bags

No one loves a good flashy bag more than I do. And with handbags and totes making a huge splash in 2021, I think the fashion world is ready to start making incrementally bigger statements with their bags. We've already seen the furry bag phenomenon and are beginning to see sparkly bags pop up as well. My prediction is that bright colors will take over the spring/summer bag world while we focus on texture and class in the fall/winter. Here's an "item of choice" flashy bag that caught my eye at the mall the other day.

On the other hand, this bright pink one is sure to make a splash in the summer:


Glamorous Silhouettes

Last but not least, I've been feeling a gravitation towards glamorous and exotic silhouettes. Is it just me, or have sparkly party dresses become much more alluring lately? I think the neutral/black color palette has really prepped people for more designer-looking outfits. 2022 style will all be based on outfits that make you look like a boujee baddie who's ready to stomp around the streets of New York in 6-inch diamond heels. Feathers, sequins, sparkles, heels, handbags, delicate jewelry, and the color black will dominate the catwalk.


I hope you enjoyed the first CiaoBella blog post of 2022! I'm feeling pretty confident in these trend predictions but only time will tell if they're right or not. If there's any trend prediction you think I missed, comment it down below so we can discuss! See you next week! Ciao!



















Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page